Review: Get Out (No Spoilers)

By Angel:

Movie description: “A young African-American man visits his Caucasian girlfriend’s mysterious family estate.”

giphy.gif

Experience

Hopefully this film won’t make you delete all your white friends, but GET OUT and see this movie right away because it’s brilliant, definitely an instant classic. When Jordan Peele announced that he was making this horror film, I was so excited because, just like myself, the horror genre is his favorite. I could not wait to see his transition from comedy and see what he had to offer. This movie was creepy, important, passionate, hilarious, and clever. Let’s get started!

get-out-allison-williams-daniel-kaluuya.jpg

Story

I was immediately hooked with the opening of the film. The movie starts off with this man who had his car broken down in this small town and needed help to leave. I jumped out of my seat when he was attacked violently and abducted. I cared that he was hurt and it just freaked me out even more to discover why this man was kidnapped. This was truly a perfect social thriller as Jordan Peele creates this fictional world which is just a huge metaphor for slavery, reverse racism, and white supremacy. The idea of racism terrifies me, the mentality that a person believes they are superior than another person because of their race is INSANE, but that’s the scary reality we live in.

jordan-peele-get-out-trailer-0000.gif

An African-American man goes to his white girlfriend’s house to meet her parents for the first time allowing that plot point to be a great balance for comedy and horror. When the protagonist starts to realize that the environment and interactions are strange, that’s when the terror begins. The second twist was fascinating. The first twist was predictable, but the second twist I did not see coming and I loved how eerie it was when the motivations of the antagonists where explained. There are clues to the twists throughout that I didn’t think about on the first viewing which make me think now, “ooooh,” and it just makes me want to see the movie again immediately. I loved seeing inspirations from films like Rosemary’s Baby and The Stepford Wives, while also feeling unique. I can watch this story again and get a completely new experience.

170221_MOV_getOut.jpg.CROP.promo-xlarge2.jpg

I do think there was a little too much comedy in the movie and some of the jokes felt redundant, didn’t work for me all the time, but the obstacles for the characters in this movie were so compelling, the tone shifts didn’t eliminate the atmosphere of distress at all. The script is well thought out as everything it introduces, such as “the sunken place,” has deeply thoughtful meaning. Individuals can actually learn from this HORROR movie because of how effectively the messages of racism were embedded.

1-N1yWrNhzANpaVk0FK7vdZg.gif

Performances

I have to give the standout performance to Allison Williams as Rose, you’ll understand why when you see the movie. Her character is the most challenging and complex to portray and she did it perfectly with so much honestly.

Screen Shot 2017-04-17 at 3.34.33 PM.png

Daniel Kaluuya is now one of my favorite actors after seeing him in Sicario, an episode of Black Mirror, and now Get Out. He was fantastic as the protagonist in this movie as he played this normal person with layered vulnerability and a sense of internal isolation. The scene where he’s sitting on the chair is worth the full price of admission on the biggest screen you can find. The tension he was able to bring to that scene is something I’ll never forget. He’s an amazing actor.

1-rTsKRs8TELuhvy-rzmX84w.gif

Honestly, everyone is so freaking incredible in this movie so I’ll say something for each of the main and supporting characters.

Marcus Henderson and Betty Gabriel were given roles that can easily be overlooked, but no no no no no…do not overlook them because they gave debatably the best performances. Thinking about them sends chills down my spine.

1-wu4iSSsahI4uBRbKhD40sA.gif5nwKcT5.gif

Bradley Whitford and Catherine Keener play the parents and they were so weird; it was awesome. I loved that they were able to represent individuals who try to connect with others on unfamiliar subjects that were based on the person’s skin color. For example, when the father tells Chris “I would have voted Obama for a third term,” that’s his attempt at showing he is not racist, but the problem with his statement is that he’s connecting with Chris’ black color, not connecting with him as an individual first like the proper behavior. They were crazy a** people!

get-out01.jpgLilRel Howery was hysterical and was playing a character that represented the logical voice of the audience, “Don’t go to the house, leave!” He was a T.S… motherfu*kin’-A.

rkxwv.gif

Caleb Landry Jones gave a sadistic monologue at a dinner scene that made me think he could be a perfect candidate to play the Joker. He was so freaking good.

C6IongOU4AAkhVO.jpg

Cinematography

To me, great cinematography is when the visuals are contributing to the storytelling. A film should SHOW us what’s going on rather than tell us. When it comes to analyzing cinematography, simply, I ask myself, “Was this film nice to look at?” Then I can choose to get in depth and look for whether colors were symbolic, placement of characters in the frame, composition, lighting, shadows, and point of view.

get-out-sunken-place.jpg

Did Get Out have great cinematography? ABSOLUTELY! I loved all the colors that were used in the movie. The design of the sunken place was stunning as it looked like an empty space filled with invisible water. Cinematographer Toby Oliver accomplished a warm inviting look to the parents’ house, at least in the beginning, and the movie as a whole had a naturalistic feel for the main character. It’s difficult to establish a heightened visual horror experience within grounded reality and he executed that remarkably.

24GETOUT1-master768.jpg

Music

Jordan Peele is a genius and used music that he knew would have a specific purpose, to spread a message and set a tone. Childish Gambino’s Redone is in this movie, enough said! He wants everyone to STAY WOKE, wake up to the disturbing reality that we live in and create solutions to increase equality in society. My favorite song was the main title, Sikiliza Kwa Wahenga, it’s gripping at first when it opens the movie, and then horrifying when put into context by the end of the film. It’s just haunting and hypnotizing. The song means “Listen to your ancestors, RUN!”

Themes

The main messages of Get Out I saw explored were racism, jealousy, and guilt. The antagonists were not the traditional kind of racists that we know since they praised Chris, or were they? Get Out can be seen as a satire on racism, an exaggeration, but I’ve thought about this film so much and I think it accurately depicts racial supremacy. This movie allows us to focus on the questions that usually does not get brought up, “Does jealously play a factor in racism and are people intimidated by other races?” Because of this film, I do believe that jealously is a powerful emotion that encourages this ill-minded thinking that people of certain races have to find ways to become superior to those who threaten their dominance.

3068349-poster-p-1-jordan-peele-on-get-out-movie.jpg

Guilt was another emotion that played a part in the mental trauma of a familial bond from Chris. This weak spot was exploited and his guilt to a specific event opened the gateway for him to sink into the sunken place. If he would have learned to forgive himself, he could have been fortified enough for the hypnosis. The sunken place is a metaphor for how white supremacy damages black people and is literally a representation of people in society that scream for help and are never heard. We are far from a post-racial world and Get Out is a striking, enlightening reminder.

giphy-1.gif

Overall

GET OUT and see this movie anywhere you can. It’s one of the highest rated horror movies of all time and deservingly so. It made me laugh, kept me on the edge of my seat, made me feel uncomfortable, surprised me, and made me reflect. It’s unbelievable that Jordan Peele made a film this creative as a directorial debut, I can’t wait to see what he has next! “A mind is a terrible thing to waste.” Thanks for reading my review. My rating for GET OUT is 9/10! (A)

get-out-review-images-1-600x300.jpg

Leave a Reply

